top of page
Search

This is the purpose of us.

This is the purpose of us. This is my blog, and it is my intent to educate, amuse, entertain and generate a love of all things Cane Corso. Of course you probably already love dogs if you are here, and chances are good you know a thing or two about those Italian mastiffs. I currently have four Corsos, two of which belong to my wife and me, with the other two being on long-term fostering status. We also have a pittie and and a pit/border collie mix.

We are a hairy bunch.

If you are coming here for expert advice, you probably need to find another blog or website. I'm not an expert in anything dog related, but I do have some knowledge. The point of this blog is to promote the Corso breed, and to share my personal stories gained through experiences. I'll try to make you laugh when I can, even when the story doesn't end with a laugh. I'll do my best to give you a glimpse into what having a Corso is like, and even that is like peeling back untold layers of an onion.

What this blog WON'T BE is a place to vent political, religious or inappropriate ideas. There are tons of places to do that, and I visit them on a regular basis. I would never dare tell anyone what to think (not even dog related), so I want this to be a nice place to write some material about dogs in general and the Cane Corso breed in particular. I'm not into censorship, but I will reserve the right to keep the comments civil and on-target.

And that is the purpose of us, all of us. To live the lives we want to live, while gathering a bunch of memories and scars along the way. (If you've gone very far into life without accruing some scars, you're not doing it right.) I'll share the highlights of having a pack of big beasts in my home, and I will not gloss over the low points either. Sometimes you get everything right, and sometimes you slip in a puddle of cold pee in the dining room because you forgot to let a friend out before bedtime.

Dogs, like all things, have a unique purpose. Some breeds are tiny while some are huge. Some work farms, some work the catwalks, but all of them work their ways into our hearts. Corsos are physically intimidating. I have one named Anubis (Nubi for short) that looks like a dog from a horror film. He is not the dog that a thief would want to stumble across as he is breaking into my home. But to Amy and me, he is a 120 pound lap dog. He is as gentle as a spring breeze once he gets to know you, and he would lay down his life to protect us. It is his purpose.

Please don't mistake my point: he is not some junk-yard dog trained to kill. He is a loving member of my family, one that loves to sniff around our big back yard. It is his purpose to make our lives better, even when he is snitching ripe tomatoes from our plants. In return, it is our purpose to make his life better as well. To Nubi, better will never be measured in zip codes or cars or fame. To Nubi, better is good food, a nice sunny day, and unlimited belly rubs. The only status that matters to him is the relationship between him and his humans. If you can't remember the last time you petted your dog or had a deep, meaningful conversation with them, might I suggest that you regain your balance and your purpose?

Dogs are simple yet complex creatures. Their needs are simple and few, but their characters are as varied as the color swatches in a paint store. I have six dogs in my home, and they are all food motivated and go insane over squeaky toys, but they are also all totally different personalities. They all have their flaws and they all have those moments when you are forced to wonder if they are not the best dog that has ever lived. A purpose-driven life is an admirable trait, and it should be the goal of every human and their dog.

So, in the end, it is my goal to write something you want to read. It is my goal to promote this thing or that, but if it isn't well-written or entertaining or thought provoking, why bother? Facts are great, but if you fall asleep halfway through, what's the point?

I'll do my very best to post at least three times a week.

Because doing so adds to my purpose.




81 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

To The Moon and Back, Part 5

Samson and I were waiting it out in Redding. Our routine was pretty much the same as it had been, so there is no point in describing the minutiae of our eating or shopping habits. My wife called me to

To The Moon and Back, part 4

The next day I was scheduled to finally get the exhaust pipe on my car fixed, but there was an issue with the weather. As is typical in the Seattle area, it was raining. In Ohio, we get all kinds of r

To The Moon and Back, Part 3

Samson and I were at an awkward stage in our relationship. We were both in a limbo state, as his adopters washed out and I was his protector now. For the moment, we were both like a hovering passenger

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page